On Sale

Reginald Omas Mamode IV - Stand Strong

Reginald Omas Mamode IV returns with his fourth solo album - the resolute, soulful, confident, sonically sure ‘Stand Strong', set for release via Five Easy Pieces on 25th March 2022. Reginald Omas Mamode IV stands strong in process, sensibility and message; speaking authentically against our collective future and the struggle of the Afro Diaspora people, the enslavement and colonisation of his and many others ancestors. His clear modus operandi focuses on a desire for peace, unity, love and a revised value system to insight a wider societal change. “Music, it's a beautiful, spiritual and powerful thing" says Reginald. "It transcends boundaries and cultures, brings people together, it can instigate the worst and the best in us."  

Running through 'Stand Strong' are themes encompassing a distaste for humanity's collective responses to the hierarchical systems that the ruling classes have conjured, past abuses and present economic and physical slavery on our and our children’s future. Throughout, the overall message remains of hope for a better future. There's a subtlety in delivering these ideas and concepts: Afro Mulatto expressions and inspirations of negro spiritual are articulated with clarity through intuitive instrumentalism, raw drums, natty funk bass, soulful fender Rhodes, and Creole percussive patterns. "Through this powerful vessel we call music, my hope is to inspire love, unity, and raise a positive consciousness and vibration.” Reginald Omas Mamode IV’s three solo albums - 2016's s/t debut, 2017's 'Children of Nu' and 2019’s ‘Where We Going’ - received continuing critical success from Mojo (“A brand-new-retro delight”), Mixmag (“Peckham beat brilliance”), Record Collector (“Equal parts D’Angelo to J Dilla”), The Wire (“Soul music turned all the way inward”), DJ Mag ("A masterpiece"), Electronic Sound (“Utterly fantastic”) and Bandcamp (“Equally steeped in hip-hop, funk, soul and jazz”). Specialist radio support has come from BBC 6 Music, Radio 1, NTS, Worldwide FM and he was nominated for ‘Album of the Year’ at Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide Awards 2017. in 2020 he joined with his brother Jeen Bassa as Mama Ode on 'Tales And Patterns Of The Maroons', which Mojo likened to early A Tribe Called Quest. 


A1 Introduction
A2 Stand Strong (Revolutionaries Position)
A3 Interlude In Three
A4 Our Freedom
A5 Welcome Stranger
A6 The Drum (Intermission)
A7 We've Been Thru It
A8 The Days Of Slavery
A9 Right On

B1 Mama Sister Daughter
B2 Alleyway Intermission
B3 Trippin
B4 That Can Free
B5 Na Trouble
B6 Youts Of Tomorrow
B7 They Took Us Away
B8 Island Afrikan


Artist:  Reginald Omas Marode IV
Label:  Five Easy Pieces
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Funk, Soul & Disco
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  FEP30LP
Released:  25th March 2022

Sale price

Regular price £22.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Reginald Omas Mamode IV - Stand Strong becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Category: Funk, Soul & Disco