Shopping Cart
Lee Ranaldo - Electric Trim
Lee Ranaldo - Electric Trim
On Sale

Lee Ranaldo - Electric Trim

Electric Trim is the new solo LP from Lee Ranaldo, recorded in New York City and Barcelona in collaboration with producer Raül ‘Refree’ Fernandez. 

Through his collaboration with Fernandez, Ranaldo moves into some rich new sonic territories and production techniques, experimenting with electronic beats and samples alongside live players Ranaldo is a co-founder of Sonic Youth, a visual artist, producer and writer. In addition to Fernandez, he worked with several special guests on Electric Trim, including Sharon Van Etten who sings on six of the tracks and duets on ‘Last Looks’ and Kid Millions (aka Man Forever) as well as longtime friend and collaborator Nels Cline (Wilco). In addition, the album features Ranaldo’s band The Dust (fellow Sonic Youth member Steve Shelley, guitarist Alan Licht, and bassist Tim Luntzel).

Ranaldo collaborated with award winning New York author Jonathan Lethem (Motherless Brooklyn / The Fortress of Solitude) for lyrics on six of the songs and the American artist, Richard Prince, who previously painted the sleeve for Sonic Youth’s 2004 album Sonic Nurse, created the artwork for the album.


1. Moroccan Mountains
2. Uncle Skeleton
3. Let’s Start Again
4. Last Looks (with Sharon Van Etten)
5. Circular (Right As Rain)
6. Electric Trim
7. Purloined
8. Thrown Over The Wall
9. New Thing


Artist:  Lee Ranaldo
Label:  Mute
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Indie & Alternative

Format:  Vinyl - 2LP
Cat Number:  STUMM403
Released:  15 September 2017

Regular price £22.00