Shopping Cart

RSD 20 August Drop: 8am to 1pm by appointment only (all now fully booked). In-store browsing available from 1pm. 

James Brown - Say It Live and Loud (Expanded Edition)
James Brown - Say It Live and Loud (Expanded Edition)
On Sale

James Brown - Say It Live and Loud (Expanded Edition)

On August 26, 1968, two weeks after releasing his civil rights anthem, “Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud,” James Brown recorded his concert at Dallas, Texas’ Memorial Auditorium. First released on CD in 1998, Brown’s Say It Live and Loud: Live in Dallas 08.26.68 album makes its vinyl debut in an expanded 2LP 50thAnniversary Edition.

"Say It Live and Loud..." captures James Brown and his band laying it down onstage in the heat of a tumultuous summer, just months after the assassinations of Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert Kennedy, and on the same night the turbulent Democratic National Convention opened in Chicago. The album features the first-ever live recordings of “Say It Loud – I’m Black And I’m Proud,” which Brown performed twice.

The new 2LP vinyl edition add two previously unreleased recordings, “That’s Life” and “The Popcorn,” as well as an updated essay by James Brown’s former tour manager, Alan Leeds. An essay by Public Enemy’s Chuck D, written for the album’s 1998 CD package, is also included.


1. Show Introduction 
2. If I Ruled The World 
3. James Brown Thanks
4. Introduction To Say It Loud - I'm Black & I'm Proud 
5. Say It Loud - I'm Black & I'm Proud 
6. I Guess I'll Have To Cry, Cry, Cry 
7. That's Life 
8. Kansas City
9. The Popcorn
10. Soul Pride
11. Tighten Up
12. Suds 
13. Introduction To Star Time!
14. Licking Stick - Licking Stick 
15. Cold Sweat 
16. There Was A Time 
17. Medley : Try Me/Lost Someone/Bewildered 
18. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag 
19. I Got The Feeling 
20. Maybe The Last Time
21. I Got You (I Feel Good) 
22. Please, Please, Please 
23. I Can't Stand Myself (When You Touch Me) 
24. Finale: Cold Sweat/I Got The Feeling/Say It Loud - I'm Black & I'm Proud 


Artist:  James Brown
Label:  UMC
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Funk, Soul & Disco
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  6771050
Released:  10 May 2019

Regular price £28.00