On Sale

Freddie Gibbs & Madlib - 'Piñata' (2021 Repress) [DAMAGED SLEEVE]


Freddie Gibbs is the product of violent, drug-laden streets but unlike most rappers with similar resumes, he brings the block to the booth without inhibition or an exaggerated rap persona. 'Piñata', a 17 track collaboration with producer Madlib, is the best distillation yet of his transparent approach to making music, combining an at times stark honesty with electrifying talent as a lyricist and performer. Piñata is “a gangster Blaxploitation film on wax,” says Gibbs, who came up on the streets of Gary, Indiana, the disregarded city previously best known for producing Michael Jackson. Here he is joined by Mac Miller, Earl Sweatshirt, Raekwon, Scarface, Domo Genesis, Ab-Soul and a host of others in setting his soliloquies of the streets alongside film snippets and dusted funk, soul and prog musical tapestries. While this is the latest in a series of single-artist collaborations for Madlib, after Jaylib (J Dilla), 'Madvillainy' (MF Doom) and the street-centric 'OJ Simpson' with Detroit’s Guilty Simpson, the pairing is unique as it is the first time for Gibbs working with just one producer. On 'Piñata', where Gibbs can shift from textbook lessons in robbing and drugging on trackslike “Scarface” and “Knicks,” to perhaps the album’s most personal song, “Broken,” a collaboration with Scarface, who, along with Tupac, DMX and 50 Cent, make up the rapper’s own Mount Rushmore of MCs (“You’re getting a hurricane of all those motherfuckers hitting you at once when you listen to Freddie Gibbs,” he says). “Deeper,” a Gibbs favorite and the third single from the album after “Thuggin’” (2012) and “Shame,” (2013) is an ode to hip-hop in the mold of Common’s “I Used to Love HER”; “High,” featuring Danny Brown, is self-explanatory and just what you would expect from Gibbs, Madlib and one of Detroit’s finest; while on “Real,” Gibbs addresses an old score just as Michael Corleone settled all family business on baptism day. As a producer, Madlib, quite simply, is music. And ten years into his career - a time when other artists become comfortable - Gibbs remains restless, focused, with an eye on the competition and their position relative to his ascent. This is because mentally, he’s still on the corner hustling, which would be the downfall of the average rapper. With 'Piñata', Gibbs confirms that he is anything but average.


1. Supplier
2. Scarface
3. Deeper
4. High Ft. Danny Brown
5. Harold’s

6. Bomb Ft. Raekwon
7. Shitsville
8. Thuggin’
9. Real
10. Uno

11. Robes Ft. Domo Genesis & Earl Sweatshirt
12. Broken Ft. Scarface
13. Lakers Ft. Ab-Soul & Polyester The Saint

14. Knicks
15. Shame Ft. BJ The Chicago Kid
16. Watts Ft. Big Time Watts
17. Piñata Ft. Domo Genesis, G-Wiz, Casey Veggies, Sulaiman, Meechy Darko, & Mac Miller


Artist:  Freddie Gibbs & Madlib
Label:  Madlib Invazion
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Hip-Hop
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  MMS022L
Released:  23rd April 2021

Sale price


Regular price £26.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Freddie Gibbs & Madlib - 'Piñata' (2021 Repress) [DAMAGED SLEEVE] becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.