On Sale

Eumir Deodato / Os Catedráticos - Ataque

After moving from Rio de Janeiro to New York in the late 60’s, Deodato would work as a composer, arranger, producer and keyboardist on nearing 500 records, under his own name and with the likes of Aretha Franklin, Earth Wind & Fire, Frank Sinatra, Kool & The Gang, George Benson, Tom Jobim and Bjork, to name a just a few.

But before that, a young Deodato had already cemented his status in Brazil as one of the country’s top musical minds. In the mid-sixties, when he wasn’t working with the likes of Roberto Menescal, Joao Donato, and Marcos Valle, Deodato recorded a string of albums with his lesser known instrumental samba jazz and bossa nova ensemble Os Catedraticos.

A masterpiece of hip Brazilian swing, Ataque reflects the deeper, groovier side of that magical, hazy sound of sixties Rio, with monster samba grooves backing big brass arrangements and scorching organ solos. Amongst Deodato’s own tracks, there are compositions by Marcos & Paulo Sergio Valle, Baden Powell and Luiz Bonfa, arranged for a big horn section, which includes trombone player Edson Maciel, and given an extra dose of cool from the inimitable drums of Wilson Das Neves and Ruebens Bassini on percussion.


1. Ataque
2. Os Grilos
3. Bom Parar...
4. Feitinha P’ro Poeta
5. Terra De Ningu M
6. Raz O De Viver
7. Tristeza
8. Samba Do Dom Natural
9. O Sol Nascera (A Sorrir)
10. Samba De Rei
11. At De Cavaquinho
12. Porque Somos Iguais


Artist:  Eumir Deodato / Os Catedráticos
Label:  Far Out
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Latin, African & World
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  FARO207LP
Released: 07 December 2018

Sale price

Regular price £20.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Eumir Deodato / Os Catedráticos - Ataque becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.