On Sale

Dos Santos - City Of Mirrors

"Bringing together the unlike pairing of an R&B groove with huapango huasteco-inspired melodies, Dos Santos proves they have the chops to make something seldom heard before.” - Remezcla

City of Mirrors is a bold new collection of music from Chicago-based alt-Latinx band Dos  Santos, which is comprised of bandleader/singer/lyricst/guitarist/keyboardist Alex Chavez, drummer Daniel Villarreal, percussionist Peter “Maestro” Vale, bassist Jaime Garza, and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Nathan Karagianis. Cinematic in its journey, the album was produced by multimedia artist and long-time friend of the band Elliot Bergman (NOMO, Wild Belle), and reflects sounds from across the Americas combined with Chavez’s compelling poetic narratives. Its 13 tracks consolidate the band’s unique identities, creative and cultural roots, and their penchant for honoring traditional Latinx music with contemporary compositional expressions and production techniques. It achieves the band’s mission to push against their own musical boundaries while also exploring themes of social justice, immigration, and contemporary human struggle. Chavez, a scholar who has produced albums for Smithsonian Folkways and conducted extensive ethnographic work on the music of the Texan US/Mexican borderlands (where he is from), articulates beautifully: “City of Mirrors is an assemblage… glimpses of tradition… reflections on our collective present… luminous echoes between love and solitude, hope and absurdity, euphoria and mourning. This album grapples with and transgresses these binaries because we have/and continue to cross borders. Yet, for us, the border is no metaphor — too much real staring back at us. We embody the border. We (our families) have crossed it. We (our stories) are coated with its residues. And so… we cross the border of self through our art – out of necessity.”



A1. A Shot in the Dark
A2. Alma Cósmica
A3. A Tu Lado
A4. City if Mirrors
A5. Glorieta
A6. White. Lies.
A7. Palo Santo

B1. Crown Me
B2. Ghost. Me.
B3. Soledad
B4. Cages and Palaces
B5. Juguar de Rosas
B6. Lejos de Ti


Artist:  Dos Santos
Label:  International Anthem Recording Co.
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Latin, African & International
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  IARC42LPI
Released:  15th October 2021

Sale price

Regular price £27.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Dos Santos - City Of Mirrors becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.