Shopping Cart
Daymé Arocena - Sonocardiogram
Daymé Arocena - Sonocardiogram
On Sale

Daymé Arocena - Sonocardiogram

The new album from Daymé Arocena is a vivid return to her Havana roots. Backed once again by a killer band of fellow Cuban musicians, the visionary singer, composer and songwriter has stripped everything back to the core. Holding sessions in a simple, repurposed artist’s studio in Havana, Daymé produced the record herself, taking the reins to make “Sonocardiogram” her most raw and arresting outing yet.

A jazz-tipped record rooted in the rhythms of rumba, she draws on the island’s intertwined rituals of family, music and religion. Ringing with echoes of the greats, songs nod to the likes of Tito Puente and La Lupe, inspirations which carry the sound of Cuba’s sun-baked, vibrant daily existence. Odes to Santería deities are underscored by the sacred frequencies of the batá drum, translated to be played on a Western drum kit. It’s an intoxicating window into a singular artist’s worldview.


1. Nangareo
2. Oyá
3. Oshún
4. Yemayá
5. Interludio
6. Porquetú No Estás
7. Para El Amor: Cantar!
8. As Feridas
9. Menuet Para Un Corazón
10. Not For Me
11. Plegaria A La Lupe
12. Homenaje


Artist:  Daymé Arocena
Label: Brownswood
Condition:  New 
Genre:  African, Latin & International
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number: BWOOD203LP.                                                                       Released:  6th September 2019


Regular price £21.00