Shopping Cart
Blu & Exile - In The Beginning: Before The Heavens
Blu & Exile - In The Beginning: Before The Heavens
On Sale

Blu & Exile - In The Beginning: Before The Heavens

10 years after Blu and Exile released their magnum opus Below the Heavens, the California duo has reunited to release 14 tracks from the original 2007 sessions.

The album contains previously heard songs and unreleased gems – the best of the best chosen from over 40 songs in the vault. Their third collaboration follows 2012’s Give Me My Flowers While I Can Still Smell Them, and is slated for a December release.

'In The Beginning: Before the Heavens' is made of up songs that are raw and untouched, keeping the authenticity of Blu and Exile’s creativity at the time. The album has guest appearances from familiar names like Dr. Oop, Donel Smokes, Aloe Blacc, and Blame One. While “Soul Provider,” “Another Day,” and “Party of Two” appeared on Blu’s Lifted EP, the majority of these songs showcase Blu rapping at his peak, maintaining his underground attitude as he dishes on reaching star status (“Constellations”), getting radio play (“On the Radio”), or opposing views in a problem-ridden world (“You’re Gonna Die Someday”). Exile, meanwhile, builds a golden hip-hop era feel with head-nodding samples and DJ scratches.


1. Soul Provider
2. Another Day
3. Constellations
4. All These Ladies
5. Party Of Two
6. Back To Basics
7. On The Radio
8. You're Gonna Die Someday
9. Life Is A Gamble
10. Things We Say
11. Hot For Y'all
12. Hard Workers
13. Sold The Soul
14. Stress Off The Chest


Artist:  Blu & Exile
Label:  Dirty Science
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Hip-Hop

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  FB5184
Released:  15 December 2018

Regular price £24.00