Shopping Cart
Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967 - 70
Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967 - 70
On Sale

Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967 - 70

 When Aretha Franklin joined Atlantic Records in 1967, it was the beginning of an unprecedented run that would ultimately cement her place as a music legend, a global household name, and one of the most influential singers of all time.

The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 features 34 singles which Franklin released during her first three years with Atlantic Records. Arranged chronologically, the songs on the new collection originally appeared on six studio albums: I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (1967), Aretha Arrives (1967), Lady Soul (1968), Aretha Now (1968), Soul '69 (1969), This Girl's In Love With You (1970), and Spirits In The Dark (1970). The only exception is Franklin's cover of Elton John's "Border Song", which was released as a single in 1970 and later appeared on her 1972 album Young, Gifted and Black. 

The album is stacked with many of Franklin's best-known songs, including "I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)", "Respect", "Baby I Love You", "Chain Of Fools" and "(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone." Several of the songs on this collection are cover versions that underscore Franklin's exceptional skill at reinterpreting music and making songs her own. Among the highlights are her versions of Sam Cooke's "You Send Me", The Band's "The Weight", The Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby", and Dionne Warwick's "I Say A Little Prayer", which became a Billboard Top 10 hit for Franklin in 1968.


1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Loved You)
2. Do Right Woman - Do Right Man
3. Respect
4. Baby I Love You
5. A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)
6. Chain Of Fools
7. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone
8. Ain't No Way
9. Think
10. You Send Me
11. The House That Jack Built 
12. I Say A Little Prayer
13. See Saw
14. My Song
15.  The Weight
16. Tracks Of My Tears
17. I Can't See Myself Leaving You
18. Gentle On My Mind
19. Share Your Love With Me
20. Eleanor Rigby
21. Call Me
22. Son Of A Preacher Man
23. Spirit In The Dark
24. Don't Play That Song
25. Border Song (Holy Moses)


Artist:  Aretha Franklin
Label:  Rhino
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Funk, Soul & Disco
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  603497858040
Released:  28 September 2018

Regular price £27.00