On Sale

Lee Scratch Perry - King Perry

Record producer, composer, singer, and pioneer of the dub music genre Lee Scratch Perry passed away in August 2021. His influence over popular music since the 1970s is hugely significant, with artists including Bob Marley & The Wailers, The Clash, Beastie Boys, Max Romeo, Junior Murvin and The Orb all enriched by Perry’s legendary touch, innovative studio techniques and production style.  

Conceived, written and recorded during the COVID pandemic, ‘King Perry’ was produced by Daniel Boyle, and features guest performances from Greentea Peng, Shaun Ryder, Tricky, Marta, Rose Waite and Fifi Rong. Two tracks were also co-produced with Tricky, who releases Perry’s last recorded performances on his False Idols label.  

Over a career spanning six decades, Lee Scratch Perry left the music world with a huge catalogue of albums, productions and appearances that cannot be underestimated. Releases for Island Records, Trojan, Adrian Sherwood’s On-U Sound, Mad Professor’s Ariwa...the list goes on. It was in 2014 that Perry teamed up with UK producer Daniel Boyle, and from this collaboration came the Grammy nominated album ‘Back At The Controls’ and was followed up five years later with the ‘Black Album’.  

The ‘King Perry’ album was born out of a request from Perry that he “wanted to do something new, something different but still with a dub framework”. And so, armed with influences as diverse as synthwave, big beat, drum & bass and electronica, Boyle and Perry traded ideas, beats and lyrics in a project that continued to grow as its various guest performers were added, resulting in a kaleidoscopic and engaging melting pot of rhythms, melodies, and voices. Poignantly, closing track ‘Goodbye’ was Perry’s last ever recorded vocal performance. 


A1. 100lbs Of Summer feat Greentea Peng
A2. Evil Generation
A3. Midnight Blues feat Fifi Rong
A4. King of the animals
A5. Green Banana feat Shaun Ryder 
A6. Jesus Life

B1. I Am A Dubby feat Marta

B2. No Illusion
B3. The Person I Am feat Rose Waite
B4. Jay People In Blue Sky feat Greentea Peng
B5. Future Of My Music feat Tricky & Marta
B6. Goodbye


Artist:  Lee Scratch Perry
Label:  False Idols
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Reggae
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  K7S410LP
Released:  2nd February 2024
Sale price

Regular price £23.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Lee Scratch Perry - King Perry becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.