On Sale

Leon Ware - Rainbow Deux

The melodically adventurous soul of Leon Ware continues its expression in his final opus Rainbow Deux, released on double vinyl by Be With Records.  Co-produced by Taylor Graves, it has stellar musical contributions from the likes of Kamasi Washington, Thundercat, Ronald Bruner Jr, Rob Bacon and Wayne Linsey. The album features new songs recorded and performed by Leon before his health turned, leading to his transition on February 23rd 2017.

Taylor Graves came into Leon’s musical family in 2002 when he, his brother Cameron and the Bruner brothers Ronald Jr and Stephen (Thundercat) were playing along with their schoolmate Kamasi at an L.A. jazz club. Taylor, Cameron, Ronald and Stephen became Leon’s band for his debut shows in Japan in 2002 and Taylor continued to work with Leon as his mentor and collaborator over the next 15 years.

“Leon was ALWAYS writing something or developing his musical palette” his wife Carol Ware tells us, so it’s impossible to pinpoint any single moment of Rainbow Deux’s genesis. Six of the songs go back to 2012/2013 and were released in 2014 as part of Sigh, a Japan-only CD collection heavy with Rob Bacon’s tasteful licks and Wayne Linsey’s piano vibes. The rest of the material comes from Leon’s sessions with Taylor.

Describing Leon’s and his process, here’s Taylor: “We’d start by having some great homemade food! Then a glass of wine ‘to slow down time’. After we’d have our fill and smoked our joints we’d go into his studio room to listen and create.”

The album was finished-up around August of 2016 in a back-and-forth between Leon and his go-to mastering engineer Toni Economides in the UK.
Leon worked on "Rainbow Deux" with life’s greatest challenge looming over him, yet it is one of his most focused and cohesive solo offerings since the 1980s. The entire record is a vibe: mellow, deep and smooth as silk. The lyrical themes are eternal, and the music is elegant, soulful and sensual.


1. For The Rainbow (6:57)
2.  Let Love In (6:14)
3. Sigh (4:08)
4. The Darkest Night (7:32)
5. Surrender Now (6:08)
6. Summer Is Her Name (4:37)
7.  Are You Ready (3:18)
8.  Streets (Keep Me Runnin’) (7:00)
9.  Samba Dreams (3:20)
10.  Let’s Go Deep (5:27)
11. We Should Be Laughin’ (3:45)
12. Wishful Thinking (4:00)


Artist:  Leon Ware 
Label:  Be With Records
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Funk Soul & Disco
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number: BEWITH034LP
Released:  13th September 2019

Sale price

Regular price £29.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Leon Ware - Rainbow Deux becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Category: Funk, Soul & Disco