On Sale

vbnd - Scum Funk

Following his 2018 debut ‘Daughter of The Sun’ (which now holds over 10 million streams across DSPs) Saskatoon based artist vbnd reveals new album ‘Scum Funk’, set for release via London based label DeepMatter.  Aiming to cultivate and encourage growth of the jazz and soul sound in his hometown, vbnd’s new work showcases the complexity of the genre and its alluring effects. 

As a collection of songs created over the past two years, 'Scum Funk' sees vbnd team up with The Soulmate Collective, consisting of Katie Tupper (Vocals), Connor Newton (Saxophone), Jesse Mcmillan (Drums) & Ayden Draude (Keys). With influences from D’Angelo and Michael League of Snarky Puppy, the collaboration results in a groove-heavy affair led by vbnd’s signature hypnotic bass lines and production, accompanied by crisp drums, topped off with Katie Tupper’s smoky vocals and unparalleled songwriting. ‘Scum Funk’ portrays intense trust between the musicians with the aim of exemplifying the uniting powers of music. 

The LP features gritty bass arrangements supporting zesty keys and syncopated drums, which create a solid backbone for luxurious saxophone melodies, and breezy vocals. The album’s heart-felt aura is illustrated in its name; deriving from a deep admiration for Jaco Pastorious’ album ‘Punk Jazz’ and in parallel from the movement of Scum Punk, vbnd wants ‘Scum Funk’ to embody the idea of “rowdy dudes playing nice sounding jazz, funk, and lovely neo soul songs”.

First single ‘Slowly Starting to Take Form’ epitomises the album’s strong funk sensibilities with “enforced stank”. Second single ‘Breathe Me In (A Little Longer)’ was born as a witty response to a corporate gig audience member who requested ‘something to dance to, the result is a powerful body-moving track, embellished with an undeniably groovy chord structure and heady disco atmospheres. Third single ‘Gold Chain’ was penned by Katie Tupper and brought to vbnd to explore new musical dimensions in late 2018 - resulting in a sultry and alluring sound, overflowing with groove, funk and charisma. 

A truly impressive body of work, ‘Scum Funk’ documents vbnd’s growing mastery of groove, texture and grit, illustrating a strong and intriguing artistic identity.


A1. V’s Funky Castle
A2. I Don’t Take Time
A3. Slowly Starting to Take Form
A4. Stop Your Crying
A5. Who Do You Think You Are? I Am!
A6. Stupid
A7. Couldn’t Get Laid (feat Abhi The Nomad)
A8. Scum Funk
A9. Fallin’ For

B1. Gold Chain
B2. Skin to Skin
B3. In a Fugue State
B4. The Ocean (She’s a Winner, Baby)
B5. Breathe Me In (A Little Longer)
B6. League Strut


Artist:  vbnd
Label:  DeepMatter Recordings
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Jazz
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  DM008L
Released:  18th June 2021

Pressed on Turquoise vinyl LP.

Sale price

Regular price £21.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when vbnd - Scum Funk becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Category: Jazz & Blues