Shopping Cart

We are now closed for browsing, but continue to offer on-line shipping and for local customers a Click & Collect service.

Various Artists - Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One: Black Man's Pride 2
Various Artists - Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One: Black Man's Pride 2
On Sale

Various Artists - Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One: Black Man's Pride 2

This is the second instalment of deep roots Rastafarian reggae at Studio One and features classic music from some of the most important figures in reggae music - Alton Ellis, The Heptones, Jackie Mittoo, The Gladiators - alongside a host of rarities and little-known recordings, such as a truly rare Mystic Revelation of Rastafari 7” single, Willie William’s first ever recording - ‘Calling’ - and Horace Andy’s righteous (and equally rare) masterpiece ‘Illiteracy.’

‘Black Man’s Pride 2’ extends the legacy of Studio One’s groundbreaking path in roots reggae which began at the end of the 1960s and continued throughout the 1970s. The album tells the story of how the rise of Studio One Records and the Rastafari movement were interconnected, through the adoption of the Rastafari faith by key reggae artists - everyone from the Skatalites and Wailers in the 1960s, major singers such as Alton Ellis and Horace Andy at the end of the decade, through to major roots artists such as The Gladiators in the 1970s - and how Clement Dodd consistently recorded this heavyweight roots music throughout Studio One’s history.

The sleeve-notes to this album also discuss the links between Rastafari and Studio One in time and place, noting how both the religion and Clement Dodd’s musical empire had their roots in the intense period of pre-independence Jamaica in Kingston, expanded in the 1960s following the visit of Haile Selassie in 1966 and how roots music then came to dominate reggae music in the early 1970s. Also discussed is how the outsider stance of both reggae music and the Rastafari movement relate back many hundreds of years to the original rebel stance of the Maroons, escaped slaves who set up selfsufficient enclaves in the hills of the Jamaican countryside. There is also a track-by-track history by the noted Studio One writer Rob Chapman (‘Never Grow Old’).


1. Horace Andy - Illiteracy
2. The Heptones - Be A Man
3. The Manchesters - Natty Gone
4. The Gladiators - Down Town Rebel
5. Willie Williams - Calling
6. Roland Alphonso & Brentford All Stars - Sir D Special
7. Keith Wilson - God I God I Say
8. Alton Ellis - Almost Anything
9. Bobby Kalphat & The New Establishment - Adis A Wa Wa
10. Peter Broggs - Sing A New Song
11. Mystic Revelations Of Rastafari - Let Freedom Reign
12. Ernest Wilson & The Sound Dimension - Freedom Fighter
13. Jackie Mittoo - Happy People
14. Prince Lincoln - Daughters Of Zion
15. High Charles - Zion
16. Winston Jarrett - Love Jah Jah


Artist: Various Artists
Label:  Soul Jazz
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Reggae & Dub
Format:  Vinyl 2LP
Cat Number:  SJRLP414
Released:  13 July 2018

Regular price £24.00