Due government guidelines our shop is closed for browsing. Click & Collect orders can be collected Monday to Saturday 10am - 4pm.

On Sale

Various Artists - Sofrito: Tropical Discoteque

Strut present the debut compilation by one of the UK’s leading Afro, Caribbean and Latin music party collectives, Sofrito. Comprising DJs Hugo Mendez and Frankie Francis alongside The Mighty Crime Minister, Sofrito has consistently combined the serious vinyl hunter’s ear for amazing records with a stylish, accessible approach, rocking dancefloors worldwide since their inception in 2007.

From their legendary Tropical Warehouse parties in East London to the clubs and bars of Brooklyn, from beach parties in Greece to festivals and clubs across Europe including WOMAD and the Big Chill, Sofrito has now become a worldwide proposition. The club has also attracted a string of A-list guests for live performances including Manu Dibango, Poets Of Rhythm, Souljazz Orchestra and Quantic. The club’s graphics by artist Lewis Heriz have become an important a part of its identity, with each event accompanied by unique hand-drawn poster art, each now a collector’s piece in its own right. And, running alongside their events, their Sofrito Specials 12” imprint has made available exclusive edits of impossible-to-find rarities. Their ‘African Soul Power’ edit was picked by Gilles Peterson as one of his re-works of 2008.

For their debut compilation, Sofrito get the party started with 15 dynamite tropical grooves old and new ranging from cumbia, Congolese guitar, calypso and highlife. Highlights include an exclusive cumbia by Quantic, "Cumbia Mochilla", a new edit of a rare Victor Uwaifo disco cut and firing Carnival jams from old-timers Roaring Lion and Mighty Shadow.


1. Banda Los Hijos De La Nina Luz – Quiero Amanacer
2. Les Ya Toupas Du Zaire – Je Ne Bois Pas Beaucoup
3. Frente Cumbiero - Pitchito
4. Fair Nick Stars – Arrete Mal Parle
5. Kyerematen Stars – Maye Obi Den
6. Victor Uwaifo – Ohue (Frankie Francis & Simbad Edit)
7. Adolfo Echeverria – Sabroso Bacalao
8. El Timba – Descarga Bontempi
9. Mighty Shadow – Dat Soca Boat
10. Dany Play – Fa’Waka
11. Safohene Djeni – Mahu Wo Asie
12. Ti Celeste – Popilation Basse-Terrienne Du Abois
13. Quantic Y Su Conjunto Los Miticos Del Ritmo – Cumbia De Mochilla
14. Roaring Lion – Carnival Long Ago
15. Gnonnas Pedro – Yiri Yiri Boum


Artist:  Various Artists
Label:  Strut
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Latin, African & World

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  STRUT070LP
Released:  9 February 2018

Sale price

Regular price £25.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Various Artists - Sofrito: Tropical Discoteque becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.