Shopping Cart
Various Artists - Doing It In Lagos
Various Artists - Doing It In Lagos
On Sale

Various Artists - Doing It In Lagos

Keeping their unbeaten record intact, Soundway Records present a new compilation of twenty rare and mostly unavailable tracks from the slick and sassy world of Nigerian pop music and club culture of the early 1980s.

Buoyed by an explosive oil boom and a return to democracy after a series of military dictatorships, Nigeria's economy in the years of the early '80's was mirrored by its recording industry as countless young artists and groups hit the airwaves and dancefloors of the capital and beyond. It was a glossy, brash new form of pop music born out of ashes of late 1970s disco and funk and, just as in America, was the soundtrack to a new generation for whom money, style and flirtation trumped the overblown psychedelia of the previous decade.

Eager to sound as American as possible with no hint of the fervor for afro-beat, afro-rock and afrocentric thinking that the 1970s had thrown up, a new generation of young artists and performers turned their backs on their cultural roots in music and sought a new kind of stardom and fame firmly connected to the glossy, snazzy world of the 1980s that was erupting in the USA and Europe. The 1970s flares and cuban heels began to disappear, in their place came sleek suits, rolled-up sleeves, bow-ties, jumpsuits, leather jackets, greased hair and a firm nod in the stylistic direction of Michael Jackson.

Track Listing

1. Hotline - Fellas Doing It In Lagos 
2. Peter Abdul - Don’t You Know 
3. Steve Monite - Only You 
4. Oby Onyioha - Enjoy Your Life 
5. Kio Amachree - Ivory 
6. Livy Ekemezie - Holiday Action 
7. Willy Roy - Don’t Give Up 
8. Danny Offia & The Friks - Funk With Me 
9. Rick Asikpo & Afro Fusion - Too Hot 
10. Terry Mackson - Distant Lover 
11. Ofege - Burning Jungle 
12. Odion Iruoje - Indentify With Your Root (Cd Only) 
13. Mike Umoh - Shake Your Body 
14. Burnis Moleme - Where Is The Answer 
15. Sony Enang - Don’t Stop That Music 
15. Veno - Groove I Like 
16. Godfrey Odili - Let’s Do More Music 
17. Toby Foyeh - Ore Mi 
18. Gboyega Adelaja - Colourful Environment 
19. Lexy Mella - On The Air 
20. Nkono Teles - Be My Lady (Mix)

Product Details

Artist:  Varius Artists
Label:  Soundway
Format:  3 x vinyl LP
Condition:  New  
Cat Number:  SNDWLP087
Released:  9 Dec 2016
Genre:  Latin, African & World

Regular price £22.50