Shopping Cart
The La's - 1987
The La's - 1987
On Sale

The La's - 1987

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of The La's pivotal year, The Viper Label is pleased to release The La’s 1987. The band had already built up a fierce reputation during the two previous years taking Liverpool by storm but by the start of 1987 the band had a new line up and practice room- an old Stables next to Strawberry Fields, in which they could rehearse every day working on new songs and playing them later that same evening! It was an extremely creative time in which La's classics:

There She Goes, Timeless Melody & Way Out were written and the standard La’s set, starting with Son of a Gun and ending with Looking Glass was formulated - eventually securing them a major recording contract and exposing them to the wider World.

Featured on this album are the legendary recordings from the Flying Picket (Trade Union Centre Venue- recorded on Pete Townsend old mixing desk) plus recordings made in Echo & the Bunnymen's studio at the behest of the late Pete De Freitas who supervised over the session with 'fifth' Bunnyman the late Jake Brockman, also featured are outtakes from the Stables rehearsals and ‘live’ rarities.
This album is a must not just for La's completists but for fans the world over and reveals a fresh and fertile period when the band were still white hot.


1. Come In Come Out
2. Liberty Ship
3. Doledrum
4. Way Out
5. Callin’ All De Freitas Session 25 - 26 April 1987
6. Son Of A Gun
7. IOU
8. Timeless Melody
9. Jumpin’ Jack Fash
10. Clean Prophet
11. Come In Come Out
12. Freedom Song Live At ‘ The World Downstairs’ Royal Court 2 Oct 1987
13. Feelin’
14. Way Out
15. I Can’t Sleep
16. Knock Me Down
17. There She Goes


Artist:  The La's
Label:  Viper
Condition:  New 
Genre: Indie & Alternative

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  88985456011
Released:  22 September 2017

Regular price £20.00