Shopping Cart
The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (2020 Re-Issue)
The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (2020 Re-Issue)
On Sale

The Divine Comedy - Victory for the Comic Muse (2020 Re-Issue)

This is a pre-order item and is expected 21st August 2020.

In 1990 Neil Hannon started recording and releasing under the name The Divine Comedy. Thirty years and twelve great albums later, Hannon is rightly adjudged one of the finest singer songwriters of his generation. To celebrate, Divine Comedy Records are remastering and reissuing nine of the band's classic albums. The reissues will be released by Neil Hannon’s own label Divine Comedy Records.

Victory For The Comic Muse was first released in 2006. Recorded virtually live in the studio over a two-week period, 'Victory...’ showcased Neil's restless creativity and his flair for observation and narrative. Pitchfork said, "These songs set lofty goals, and realize them" while The Guardian called it a “triumphant comeback” and Spin declared "[Hannon] deserves to be recognized as the unsung genius of symphonic pop."  Singles from the album include To Die A Virgin, Diva Lady and live favourite A Lady Of A Certain Age.

'The LP release consists of the original remastered album, cut at Abbey Road, packaged with a download code for the album and bonus tracks. The LP is heavyweight black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve accompanied with photos, credits and Neil's liner notes.


1. To Die A Virgin
2. Mother Dear
3. Diva Lady
4. A Lady Of A Certain Age
5. The Light Of Day
6. Threesome
7. Party Fears Two
8. Arthur C. Clarke's Mysterious World
9. The Plough
10. Count Grassi's Passage Over Piedmont
11. Snowball In Negative


Artist:  The Divine Comedy
Label:  Divine Comedy Records
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Rock & Pop Re-Issues
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  DCRL090RLP
Released:  21st August 2020

Regular price £24.00