Shopping Cart
Television Personalities - Beautiful Despair
Television Personalities - Beautiful Despair
On Sale

Television Personalities - Beautiful Despair

Available on a limited marble pressing, this is Television Personalities' unreleased album.

Recorded in 1990 by Jowe at his flat in Glading Terrace, Stoke Newington (shortly before it was demolished), over a number sessions on a portable 4-track cassette-tape machine.
“Over the course of a few weeks, we had amassed fifteen tracks, some of which ended up being re-recorded with very different arrangements on 'Closer to God'. The intention was to finish and release these tracks at some point, and that time has finally arrived”
- Jowe Head.

Of the previously unheard songs, 'I Like That in a Girl' was based on a conversation Daniel Treacy had with Lawrence of the Birmingham band Felt, hence the peculiar accent that Dan uses towards the end! 'Love is a Four-Letter Word' was a song the band would play regularly live; it eventually evolved into 'Love is Better Than War'.

'I Suppose You Think It’s Funny' displays Jowe and Daniels double-falsetto skills. 'If You Fly Too High' was based on an encounter with Evan Dando of The Lemonheads in Berlin during a memorable gig with them at the Ecstasy Madhouse in December 1989, when the Berlin Wall was being torn down. The band jammed with Evan on stage that night, playing some tunes by Jonathan Richman and Johnny Thunders. The song also mentions Alan McGee, who was a great fan of the TVPS. Alan openly admits that he emulated Dan’s style of music, and influenced his decision to run a mod-psychedelic club, 'The Living Room', and to start his label, Creation.


1. Hard Luck Story Number 39
2. Razor Blades And Lemonade
3. How Does It Feel To Be Loved
4. Love Is A Four-Letter Word
5. Beautiful Despair
6. If You Fly Too High
7. Have A Nice Day
8. I Get Frightened Too
9. Goodnight Mister Spaceman
10. Honey For The Bears
11. I Don’t Want To Live This Life
12. I Like That In A Girl
13. My Very First Nervous Breakdown
14. I Suppose You Think It’s Funny
15. This Heart’s Not Made Of Stone


Artist:  Television Personalities
Label:  Fire Records
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Rock, Psych & Garage

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  FIRELP327
Released:  19 January 2018

Regular price £26.00