On Sale

Tariverdiev - Olga Sergeevna Original Soundtrack

Following the release of the critically acclaimed ‘Film Music’ box set and ‘Irony Of Fate’, Earth Recordings release Mikael Tariverdiev’s score of 1975’s ‘Olga Sergeevna’. Produced by Stephen Coates and Vera Tariverdieva with imagery from Paul Heartfield, the deluxe double vinyl will be made available for the first time outside of Russia. Bringing the composer close to recognition in the west, the magisterial score and improvisations are taken from the Soviet TV Film series ‘Olga Sergeevna’ which was directed by Aleksandr Proshkin. Based on a story by Edvard Radzinsky, the show featured several film stars with the lead role of Olga played by screen star Tatiana Doronina. Olga is a marine biologist brought from a small town to Moscow by her mentor.

As the story unfolds there’s a tangled web of professional, romantic and emotional relationships with various men. The main theme of the series is that a woman can dedicate her life to her career and feel satisfied, even when she is not particularly happy in her personal life. In the USSR, and globally, it was a revolutionary concept in the 1970s to set a TV drama around the life of a female scientist. As many critics have noted, his music, like the theme of the TV series, contradicts the lazy prejudice that any popular culture which escaped the Soviet censor could not be ground breaking or the equal of anything being made in the West. The scores improvised baroque jazz inflections were created from improvised pieces lead by Tariverdiev on keyboard, celeste, cimbalon, harpsichord and piano.

Here he’s accompanied by Josef Kobzon with the Orchestra of Cinematography conducted by Emin Khachaturian along with double bassist Shakhaliev and Livshin on drums. At the time of its release, Tariverdiev had recently scored the popular ‘Seventeen Moments Of Spring and was about to work on ‘The Irony Of Fate’ when Proshkin submitted music from the score for the Union Of Composers. Having won the award, Tariverdiev travelled to LA to receive it and the offers for further film composition work came flooding in. 


1. Faster Than Sound
2. Movement In Tempo Presto
3. Morning In The Mountains
4. Sun In Rain
5. Memory (Instrumental)
6. Olga's Melody
7. Burned Out Nerves
8. Reflection B3 Recollection
9. Movement In E Minor
10. The Solitude Of The Boat
11. Harpsichord Rhythm
12. Nocturne
13. Don't Disappear (Instrumental)
14. Moscow Morning
15. Childhood
16. Circles On Water
17. Wanderer
18. Aria
19. Longing For Silence
20. Memory (Vocal)
21. Appearance
22. Out Of Shot
23. Horizon
24. Mariner
25. Cloud Land
26. Vanishing Point
27. Don't Disappear (Vocal)


Artist:  Tariverdiev
Label:  Earth
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Soundtrack

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  EARTHLP020
Released:  20 October 2017

Sale price

Regular price £26.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Tariverdiev - Olga Sergeevna Original Soundtrack becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Category: Soundtracks