Shopping Cart
Madlib - Shades Of Blue: Madlib Invades Blue Note (2017 Re-Issue)
Madlib - Shades Of Blue: Madlib Invades Blue Note (2017 Re-Issue)
On Sale

Madlib - Shades Of Blue: Madlib Invades Blue Note (2017 Re-Issue)

Shades Of Blue is an unique project that turns over the legacy of the esteemed Blue Note jazz label to one of hip-hop's most unique artists, Madlib. He is considered to be one of hip hop's most inventive visionaries and connects it's productions through smart lyrics and poetics. Madlib was afforded the opportunity to mine the crates of Blue Note.

On Shades of Blue, he delivers remixes and brand spanking new interpretations of Blue Note classics. Whether funking out Ronnie Foster's original 'Mystic Brew' and transforming it into the 'Mystic Bounce' or giving Wayne Shorter's 'Footprints' a go with Yesterday's New Quintet, rest assured that Madlib's innovative sonic vocabulary will fill the ears.

Other artists receiving a Madlib re-imagination include Donald Byrd, Bobbi Humphrey, Bobby Hutcherson, Horace Silver, The Three Sounds and many more.

Pitchfork album reviewer Scott Hreha rates the album 8.6 'Listening to Madlib's music, I'm reminded of the Black radical maestros responsible for some of the outermost limits music-making of the past half-century: Sun Ra, George Clinton, Lee 'Scratch' Perry'.


1. Introduction
2. Slim's Return
3. Distant Land
4. Mystic Bounce
5. Stormy
6. Blue Note Interlude
7. Please Set Me At My Ease
8. Funky Blue Note
9. Alfred Lion Interlude
10. Stepping Into Tomorrow
11. Andrew Hill Break
12. Montara
13. Song For My Father
14. Footprints
15. Peace / Dolphin Dance
16. Outro


Artist:  Madlib
Label:  Blue Note / Music On Vinyl
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Hip-Hop
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  MOVLP1898
Released: 30 June 2017

Regular price £25.00