Hackney Colliery Band - Collaborations: Volume One

Featuring collaborations with a host of key names in jazz and world music, including - amongst others - the father of Ethio-jazz Mulatu Astatke; British jazz funk legend James Taylor, trombonist Dennis Rollins, UK saxophonist Pete Wareham and Beninese singer-songwriter (and Grammy Award-winner) Angélique Kidjo... Hackney Colliery Band have effortlessly transformed their explosive live energy into 11 original recordings that push the groove and form in an accomplished manner.

On 'Collaborations: Volume One', composers Steve Pretty, Olly Blackman and Luke Christie have between them penned the outfit's most dynamic material to date. 'Mm Mm' (feat. Angélique Kidjo and Roundhouse Choir) merges Beninese grooves with wah pedal trumpet textures, and the rousing call-and-response between Kidjo’s soaring vocal and the exhilarating choir adds a richness and depth to the composition. On 'Snowfire', innovative Norwegian pianist Bugge Wesseltoft brings a euro/nu-jazz feel to the album, while Dennis 'Funkybone' Rollins adds his trademark virtuoso trombone to the carnival-flavoured Ricochet.

The single 'Netsanet' (feat. Mulatu Astatke) is a deep exploration of Mulatu's trademark Ethio-jazz, while Crushing Lactic, composed by Tom Rogerson (fresh from a recent collaboration with Brian Eno) has a frenzied flow, with big horns and driving rhythm section.

Elsewhere, Pete Wareham (stalwart of the London jazz revival) lends his free-flowing sax to What’s Gone Before, leading us into a powerful communion of jazz and brass as Mulatu Astatke’s Derashe takes the listener down a vibrating rhythmic path while accompanied by blasts of horns and Mulatu’s trademark vibraphone. Two spoken word compositions ('Why Yellow' and 'Climbing Up My Own Life Until I Die') featuring York-born writer and comedian Rob Auton lend an introspective voice to 'Collaborations: Volume One'.


1. Hackney Colliery Band, Angelique Kidjo, Roundhouse Choir - Mm Mm (feat. Angélique Kidjo and Roundhouse Choir) 
2. Snowfire (feat. Bugge Wesseltoft)
3. Ricochet (feat. Dennis 'Funkybone' Rollins)
4. Why Yellow (feat. Rob Auton)
5. Hypothetical (feat. James Taylor)
6. Netsanet (feat. Mulatu Astatke)
7. Without You (feat. YVA)
8. Crushing Lactic (comp. Tom Rogerson)
9. What's Gone Before
10. Climbing Up My Own Life Until I Die (feat. Rob Auton)
11. Derashe (feat. Mulatu Astatke)


Artist:  Hackney Colliery Band
Label:  Veki Records
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Jazz
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number: HCB004
Released:  June 7th 2019

Sale price


Regular price £13.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Hackney Colliery Band - Collaborations: Volume One becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Category: Jazz & Blues