Shopping Cart
Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (10th Anniversary Expanded Edition)
Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (10th Anniversary Expanded Edition)
On Sale

Gil Scott-Heron - I'm New Here (10th Anniversary Expanded Edition)

In February 2010, the late, legendary musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron released his thirteenth, and last, studio album. First conceptualised in 2005, and ultimately produced by XL Recordings head Richard Russell during New York recording sessions that commenced in January 2008, I’m New Here was Scott-Heron’s first album in thirteen years and found him sounding as vital, boundary-pushing and insightful as ever before. On 7th February 2020 - the tenth anniversary of I'm New Here's release - XL Recordings release a limited-edition, expanded version of the album. In addition to the original album, the I'm New Here 10th Anniversary Edition features two unreleased tracks - a cover of Richie Havens’ 'Handsome Johnny’ and a previously unheard Scott-Heron song 'King Henry IV’ - as well as a selection of other recordings from the original I’m New Here sessions that were only previously available on a rare, vinyl only deluxe version of the LP.

"Ten years ago I was in the midst of recording “I’m New Here” with Gil. There was a lot more to the experience than it was possible to process at the time, and there was some great material that never made it onto the album. Our cover of “Handsome Jonny” was the last recording Gil and I made on the last day of the last session for “I’m New Here”, at Clinton Studio in Hell’s Kitchen, NY, on September 19, 2009. Gil had introduced me to the original version of the song, explaining how Richie Havens had performed it in his opening set at Woodstock some forty years earlier, and we added it to a list of material we were considering for the album. In the end we recorded some of these songs, like Bobby Blue Bland’s “I’ll Take Care Of You”, Bill Callahan’s “I’m New Here” and Robert Johnson’s “Me and the Devil”, and didn’t get round to some others, including Joy Divison’s “Disorder”." - producer Richard Russell


1. On Coming from a Broken Home (Pt. 1)
2. Me and the Devil
3. I'm New Here
4. Your Soul and Mine
5. Parents (Interlude)
6. I'll Take Care of You
7. Being Blessed (Interlude)
8. Where Did the Night Go
9. I Was Guided (Interlude)
10. New York Is Killing Me
11. Certain Things (Interlude)
12. Running
13. The Crutch
14. I've Been Me (Interlude)
15. On Coming from a Broken Home (Pt. 2)
16. Handsome Johnny
17. King Henry IV
18. Piano Player (Intro)
19. Home Is Where The Hatred Is
20. Winter (Interlude)
21. Winter In America
22. Jazz (Interlude)
23. Is That Jazz
24. A Place To Go (Interlude)
25. My Cloud


Artist:  Gil Scott-Heron
Label:  XL Recordings                                                                                 Condition:  New 
Genre:  Indie & Alternative
Format:  LP vinyl
Cat Number:  XL1005LP
Released:  7th February 2020

Double LP is pressed on one green and one pink colour vinyl record 

Regular price £25.00