Shopping Cart
Deerhoof - Mountain Moves
Deerhoof - Mountain Moves
On Sale

Deerhoof - Mountain Moves

Experiencing one emotion at a time is a luxury of the past. Think back to that moment at the women's march or the pro-science rally, when you spied a small child holding a handmade sign that read "I love naps but I stay woke" or "Boys will be boys good humans" or "May the facts be with you." How adorable! How upsetting! How the hell are they going to make it to adulthood in this toxic environment?

Deerhoof is right there with you. They recognize that we are simultaneously living in two worlds, one a maniacal, mainstream monoculture hell-bent on driving humankind into extinction, the other a churning underground teeming with ideas and dogged optimism and the will to thrive and survive. Mountain Moves refutes the former by ecstatically celebrating the latter.

Though Deerhoof have often made albums from start to finish with virtually no input from the outside world, now is not the time for artists to operate in isolation. Mountain Moves throws the doors wide open. Working quickly, the band invited myriad guests to participate, some of them dear friends, others practically strangers. They are of different ages, different nationalities, different disciplines.

The only common thread was that none of the  artist on Mountain Moves fit into a single, neatly-defined category – nor do they wish to. If Mountain Moves were a movie, it would be a double feature, Journey to the Center of the Deerhoof and Escape from Planet Deerhoof, shown side-by-side simultaneously.

The record epitomizes the band at its very best, exploring new realms between the poles of independence and invention. It also serves as a welcoming point of entry for new listeners outside Deerhoof’s traditional orbit, an opportunity to bring even more voices into the communal conversation. We’re all in this together. 


1 Slow Motion Detonation (ft. Juana Molina)
2 Con Sordino
3 I Will Spite Survive (ft. Jenn Wasner)
4 Come Down Here & Say That (ft. Lætitia Sadier)
5 Gracias A La Vida (Violeta Parra)
6 Begin Countdown
7 Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You (ft. Awkwafina)
8 Ay That's Me
9 Palace Of The Governors
10 Singalong Junk (ft. Xenia Rubinos)
11 Mountain Moves (ft. Matana Roberts)
12 Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers)
13 Sea Moves (ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff)
14 Kokoye
15 Small Axe (Bob Marley)


Artist:  Deerhoof
Label:  Joyful Noise
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Indy & Alternative

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  JNR233LPC1
Released:  8 September 2017

Format:  CD
Cat Number:  JNR233CD
Released:  8 September 2017

Regular price £21.00