Shopping Cart
David Axelrod - Songs of Innocence (2018 Re-issue)
David Axelrod - Songs of Innocence (2018 Re-issue)
On Sale

David Axelrod - Songs of Innocence (2018 Re-issue)

This is the first Now-Again issue in a series of reissues centered around Axelrod’s Capitol Trilogy – "Song of Innocence", "Songs of Experience" and "Earth Rot" – which will see release through 2018. This audiophile reissue was transferred directly from Axelrod’s original EQ’ed master tapes at Capitol Records by Ron McMaster. Axelrod’s debut, and a ‘60s masterpiece.

Celebrated as psychedelic, the birth of jazz-fusion, the harbinger of hip-hop, "Song of Innocence" is a hybrid that no one, not even Axelrod himself, could describe. Grounded by Wrecking Crew vets Earl Palmer and Carol Kaye’s funk, torn between the juxtaposition of musical elements, put at ease, Axelrod’s sweeping arrangements, which utilize brass and strings in a way that no one of his era did. It’s both violent and sublime. Contains 28 page booklet that delves into Axelrod’s incredible life and music, replete with never before published photos and an interview with Axelrod by Eothen Alapatt and Wax Poetics’ Brian Digenti. 


1. Urizen
2. Holy Thursday
3. The Smile
4. A Dream
5. Song Of Innocence
6. Merlin' Prophecy
7. The Mental Traveler


Artist:  David Axelrod
Label:  Now-Again Records
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Rock & Pop Re-issues
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  NA5165LP
Released:  6 July 2018

Regular price £30.00