Shopping Cart
Binker & Moses - Journey To The Mountain Of Forever
Binker & Moses - Journey To The Mountain Of Forever
On Sale

Binker & Moses - Journey To The Mountain Of Forever

When Binker Golding and Moses Boyd’s debut album Dem Ones was released in Summer of 2015 it kickstarted a sensational year for the young saxophone and drums duo, who won a string of awards including 2015 MOBO Awards: Best Jazz Act, Jazz FM Awards 2016: UK Jazz Act of the Year and Breakthrough Act of the Year and the 2106 Parliamentary Jazz Awards: Jazz Newcomer of the Year.

Their new record Journey to the Mountain of Forever is a story album on two discs: the first features the duo on their own while for the second they are joined by saxophonist Evan Parker, trumpeter Byron Wallen, harpist Tori Handsley tabla player Sarathy Korwar and drummer Yussef Dayes. The sessions took place on 21-22 July 2016, and were recorded completely live from Mark Ronson’s Zelig studio direct to a 1960’s Studer C37 1/4” tape machine at Gearbox’s studio - no edits, drop-ins or mixing down.

So, travel with us from the “realm of the now” to “the realm of the infinite” meeting along the way Shamans, the great Besbunu, the Ultra Blacks & various other tribes, monsters & characters whilst immersing yourself in their strange rituals, potions, music & a world which has no end. But, beware of the Jahvmonishi plant!

Also featured on the release are Evan Parker - tenor and soprano saxophone; Byron Wallen - trumpet; Tori Handsley - harp; Sarathy Korwar - tabla; Yussef Dayes - drums


1. The Departure
2. Intoxication From The Jahvmonishi Leaves
3. Fete By The River
4. Trees On Fire
5. The Shaman’s Chant
6. Leaving The Now Behind
7. The Valley Of The Ultra Blacks
8. Gifts From The Vibrations Of Light
9. Mysteries And Revelations
10. Ritual Of The Root
11. The Voice Of Besbunu
12. Echoes From The Other Side Of The Mountain
13. Reverse Genesis
14. Entering The Infinite
15. At The Feet Of The Mountain Of Forever


Artist:  Binker & Moses
Label:  Gearbox
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Jazz
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  GB1537
Released: 2 June 2017

Regular price £21.00