Shopping Cart
Art Feynman - Blast Off Through The Wicker
Art Feynman - Blast Off Through The Wicker
On Sale

Art Feynman - Blast Off Through The Wicker

Dub, Krautrock, and 70’s Highlife inspired debut. Clash says “his open-ended psychedelic vision conjures simple, primal emotion.” Line of Best Fit calls it “mad genius.” Blast Off Through the Wicker documents Art Feynman looking for life in the lifeless, questioning what it means to be living. There is a calm, disciplined pocket to be felt in everything Feynman does; krautrock slink, staccato bounce, and pentatonic bursts of Nigerian Highlife fuzz pour on the temporal canvas with unquestionable ease, never falling in the wrong place. Even more admirable is, that his "canvas" is a four-track tape recorder, and that Blast Off features no loops or drum machines despite its aesthetically faithful motorik and afrobeat underpinnings.

Nowhere is this fact more surprising than on album standout "Slow Down" which pulses along infectiously with a crunchy backbeat, and deftly arpeggiating bass lines that are so locked-in that it would be hard to fault an unknowing ear for assuming the whole thing is tediously programmed. There are gentler sides to Blast Off that conjure the spacey tenderness of Arthur Russell inventively and respectfully, without adopting their muse's palette wholesale. In this regard Blast Off is an endearing collection of songs that capture the ear with warm-yet-clear cassette aesthetics and spot-on musicianship, both of which form an angle that points lovingly to Feynman's deep and varied influences.

Make no mistake - this one truly is alive.


1. Eternity In Pictures 
2. Slow Down  
3. Cant Stand It 
4. Feeling Good About Feeling Good
5. Two Minor  
6. Win Win  
7. Hot Night Jeremiah  
8. I Rain You Thunder 
9. Party Line  
10. Small House Blues 


Artist:  Art Feynman
Label:  Western Vinyl
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Rock, Psych & Garage

Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  WV162LP
Released:  28 July 2017

Regular price £21.00