Shopping Cart

We are now closed for browsing, but continue to offer on-line shipping and for local customers a Click & Collect service.

Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad Presents - The Midnight Hour
Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad Presents - The Midnight Hour
On Sale

Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad Presents - The Midnight Hour

The Midnight Hour is Black excellence: an ode to the cultural sophistication that the Harlem Renaissance established for its people. The Midnight Hour is comprised of Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge, alongside a tight rhythm section and a full orchestra. The album has features from CeeLo Green, Raphael Saadiq, Masha Ambrosius, Bilal, Eryn Allen Kane, Karolina and more. Adrian and Ali began working on this album back in 2013, but put the project aside as they would score the hit Netflix series Marvel’s Luke Cage (the two even perform in an episode of the upcoming second season).

The Midnight Hour is a soul/jazz/hip hop album which continues the conversations started by yesterday’s jazz and funk pioneers; those that created the bedrock of samples for hip hop producers in the 80s/90s. The Midnight Hour is sophisticated hip hop that fans will enjoy, capturing their jazz rhythm section, and a full orchestra, to analog tape. One of the seminal compositions, “Questions” originally began as an unfinished Midnight Hour demo with Cee-Lo Green. However, Kendrick Lamar heard the track and wanted to sample portions for his GRAMMY-winning album To Pimp a Butterfly (the song ultimately made it to Kendrick’s 2016 compilation Untitled Unmastered as "Untitled 06 | 06.30.2014.").

The full, completed version of “Questions” is now the lead single on The Midnight Hour. “So Amazing” is a reimagining of Luther Vandross’ 1986 single. Ali and Adrian took Luther's original vocal stems and composed new music, as if they were in the room with Luther originally. This transcendental recording is something that really makes The Midnight Hour special.


1. Black Beacon
2. Maré (Feat. Ladybug Mecca)
3. It's You (Feat. Raphael Saadiq) 
4. Questions (Feat. Cee-Lo Green)
5. So Amazing (Feat. Luther Vandross)
6. Gate 54 
7. Do It Together (Feat. Bilal) 
8. Redneph In B-Minor
9. Better Endeavor 
10. Smiling For Me (Feat. Karolina)
11. Don't Keep Me Waiting (Feat. Marsha Ambrosius)
12. Bitches Do Voodoo (Feat. Angela Muñoz)
13. Possibilities (Feat. Eryn Allen Kane) 
14. Mission
15. Dans Un Moment D'errance (Feat. Laetitia Sadier, ?Uestlove, & Keyon Harrold)
16. Together Again (Feat. James Poyser & No I.D.)
17. Love Is Free (Feat. Eryn Allen Kane)
18. Feel Alive (Feat. Karolina & Loren Oden)
19. There Is No Greater Love (Feat. Loren Oden & Saudia Yasmein) 
20. Ravens


Artist:  Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad
Label:  Linear Labs
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Funk, Soul & Disco
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  LL037LP
Released:  13 July 2018

Regular price £30.00