On Sale

Dur Dur Of Somalia - Volume 1 & Volume 2

This triple LP reissue of the band’s first two albums - the first instalment in a three-part series dedicated to Dur-Dur Band - represents the first fruit of Analog Africa’s long labours to bring this extraordinary music to the wider world. Remastered from the best available audio sources, these songs have never sounded better. Some thirty years after they first made such a splash in the Mogadishu scene, they have been freed from the wobble and tape-hiss of second and third generation cassette dubs, to reveal a glorious mix of polychromatic organs, nightclub-ready rhythms and hauntingly soulful vocals.

In addition to two previously unreleased tracks, the music is accompanied by extensive liner notes, featuring interviews with original band members, documenting a forgotten chapter of Somalia’s cultural history. Before the upheaval in the 1990s that turned Somalia into a war-zone, Mogadishu, the white pearl of the Indian Ocean, had been one of the jewels of eastern Africa, a modern paradise of culture and commerce. In the music of the Dur-Dur band - now widely available outside of Somalia - we can still catch a fleeting glimpse of that golden age.

From the very beginning, Dur-Dur’s doctrine was the fusion of traditional Somali music with whatever rhythms would make people dance: Funk, Reggae, Soul, Disco and New Wave were mixed effortlessly with Banaadiri beats, Daantho and spiritual Saar music. It initially seemed that Dur-Dur’s music had only been preserved as a series of murky tape dubs and YouTube videos, but after Samy arrived in Mogadishu he eventually got to the heart of Mogadishu’s tape-copying network - an analogue forerunner of the internet file-sharing that helped to keep the flame of this music alive through the darkest days of Somalia’s civil strife - and ended up finding some of the band’s fabled master tapes, long thought to have disappeared.


1. Ohiyee
2. Yabaal
3. Heelo
4. Hiyeeley
5. Aw Baahilowlow
6. Doon Baa Maraysoo 
7. Salkudhigey (Previously Unreleased)
8. Haddi Aanan Gacaloy (Previously Unreleased) 
9. Intro Vol.2
10. Jaceyl Mirahiis
11. Dab - Abdulahi Sharif Hasan
12. Saafiyeey Makaa Saraayeey
13. Jaajumoow Jees
14. Diinleeya
15. Caashaqa Maxaa Ii Baray
16. Keene Gardaran
17. Jubba Aaka
18. Aduun Hawli Kama Dhamaato


Artist:  Dur Dur Of Somalia
Label:  Analog Africa
Condition:  New 
Genre:  Latin, African & World
Format:  Vinyl LP
Cat Number:  AALP087
Released:  14 September 2018

Sale price

Regular price £31.00
( / )
Click here to be notified by email when Dur Dur Of Somalia - Volume 1 & Volume 2 becomes available.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.